h1

TOOTSIE Roll POP Lessons

January 17, 2013

So what can one learn from Tootsie Roll Pops? Come-on now. Lessons from a Tootsie Pop? Well…..there is much to be learned from the simplest of things. Since this is a Hiking Blog, we will stick with lessons learned while outdoors.

Ensure-your-organization-has-something-stronger-than-Tootsie-Pop-security

My biggest personal lesson from Tootsie Pops went like this……..I was Hiking many years ago while enjoying a Red Tootsie Roll Pop. Something at that time, I did quite regularly.:-) I had just finished those last chewy bites and put the stick back into my Day-pack. Since it was still early Springtime and there was a chill in the air, my hands had gotten a bit cold while I was devouring my Tootsie Pop. So when I finished my treat, I put my hands into my pockets.

As I continued to Hike, the Trail started some slight rolling. The ground in some places had not yet thawed, so was very hard and in spots….slippery. While I went up the very first incline, I of course slipped forward and could not remove my hands from my pockets quick enough to use them to break my fall. Instead I used my face. 😦 Not the best body part to use when stopping a fall.

A trip to the Doctors and 4 stitches later, I would remember this situation forever. While I waited to get stitched up at the Docs, I thought about all the possibilities that could have occurred out on that Trail. I was very glad I had finished my Tootsie Roll Pop before my fall. I cannot imagine what might had happened with that treat hanging out of my mouth while taking that fall.

So I actually learned two valuable lessons that afternoon. Tootsie Roll Pops are the treats after a good Hike. Not something consumed during the actual Hike. And the other lesson was that you never Hike with your hands in your pockets. This leaves nothing for you to use to break a possible fall. I do not break either of these lessons to this day.

If you join us on one of our Hikes, you will see that Tootsie Roll Pops are the treats given out after a good Hike, while we either sit around the Campfire or linger in the Parking area and talk of our adventure. I now also have at least two pairs of gloves with me at all times. Every season except the middle of Summer. Even those slightly chilled mornings or early evenings can cause one to want to put your hands into your pockets to take off that chill. It doesn’t seem like much, until you end up breaking a possible Trail fall with your face. Then it becomes a big deal real quick. yes…..you are allowed top laugh at me here. 🙂 I will even show you the stitches on my chin to prove my tail and Tootsie Roll Pop lesson. 🙂

TootsiePopAd1962

1962 Comic book add for Tootsie Pops

Side-Note:  Tootsie Roll Pops can now be purchased in individual flavors. That means for you Red flavor lovers, you can purchase an entire bag of just Red Tootsie Roll Pops.

Stop in at the official web site and check it out:  http://shop.tootsie.com/Tootsie-Pops/c/TootsieRoll@TootsiePops

Leave a Reply

